setting DPIs / losing DPIs

Discussion about Steve DeVore's Book Scan Wizard, a power-user package to automate scan processing.

Moderator: peterZ

Post Reply
adamzero
Posts: 6
Joined: 03 Jul 2013, 02:30
E-book readers owned: ipad
Number of books owned: 1000
Country: USA

setting DPIs / losing DPIs

Post by adamzero »

I'm using BSW and it seems to be losing the DPIs on the files (which are also coming out 5 times bigger than before and different pixel dimensions). The input files are lzw compressed tifs, they all have DPI set, I've checked with imagemagick, and the output files have no DPI. My script is pasted below. I'm sure there is just some command set wrong, but I can't find any documentation anywhere! I don't want to change the DPIs on the files, I want to leave them unaltered. How do i make that happen?

Many many thanks for any help,
Adam

Code: Select all

# Book Scan Wizard Script
# http://bookscanwizard.sourceforge.net
# /Volumes/Untitled/scanner processing/working


# the source directory
LoadImages = /Volumes/Untitled/scanner processing/left

# The Destination directory
SetDestination = /Volumes/Untitled/scanner processing/destination

# Sets the final DPI and compression
SetTiffOptions = 0 NONE

# Configure the left pages
Pages = left
Rotate = -90

# Configure the right pages
Pages = right
Rotate = 90

########################################################################
### Insert commands to fix keystone, color, etc.
########################################################################
Pages=all


########################################################################

Pages=all
Pages = right
Perspective = 91,4117, 98,222, 2703,129, 2706,4255 # image_004R R

Pages = left
Perspective = 497,98, 3248,203, 3359,4268, 544,4434 # image_007L L

Pages = all
steve1066d
Posts: 296
Joined: 27 Nov 2010, 02:26
E-book readers owned: PRS-505
Number of books owned: 1250
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Contact:

Re: setting DPIs / losing DPIs

Post by steve1066d »

The issue is that BSW doesn't ever retain the DPI's on source images. The reason being that the way it is normally used is that the source files are the jpg's from the camera, which don't have a valid DPI.

However, when I get the chance, I'll see if I can add that feature to BSW.

For now, you can use the SetSourceDPI operation to explicitly set the DPI.
Steve Devore
BookScanWizard, a flexible book post-processor.
steve1066d
Posts: 296
Joined: 27 Nov 2010, 02:26
E-book readers owned: PRS-505
Number of books owned: 1250
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Contact:

Re: setting DPIs / losing DPIs

Post by steve1066d »

The newest version of BSW will retain the DPI of source images.
Steve Devore
BookScanWizard, a flexible book post-processor.
Post Reply